War Eagle Extra has moved!

You should be automatically redirected in 10 seconds. If not, visit
and update your bookmarks.

December 3, 2012

No Auburn players named all-SEC football; Manziel, Jarvis Jones, Sumlin top honorees

AUBURN, Ala. — It was 1976, the last time Auburn did not land a single representative on the postseason all-SEC teams released by the Associated Press, United Press International and league coaches.

It is looking like this year is going that route.

The AP’s squads named a total of 56 players, from 13 different schools. Auburn was the lone SEC program left out, with potential candidates tailback Tre Mason, wide receiver Emory Blake, linebacker Daren Bates and kicker Cody Parkey left off the list.

Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel was unanimously named the SEC Offensive Player and Freshman of the Year. His coach, Kevin Sumlin, held off Florida’s Will Muschamp for SEC Coach of the Year, while Georgia linebacker Jarvis Jones was honored as Defensive Player of the Year.

South Carolina running back Marcus Lattimore, who suffered a grotesque knee injury in the ninth game of the year, was an honorable mention. He ranked tenth in the SEC in rushing among tailbacks.

The 2012 Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference football team released Monday, with player’s position, name, school, height, weight and class (u-unanimous selection):



WR: u-Cobi Hamilton, Arkansas, 6-3, 209, Sr.

WR: Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt, 6-3, 205, Jr.

OL: Chance Warmack, Alabama, 6-3, 320, Sr.

OL: Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M, 6-6, 310, Jr.

OL: Jake Matthews, Texas A&M, 6-5, 305, Jr.

OL: Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State, 6-4, 320, Jr.

C: u-Barrett Jones, Alabama, 6-5, 302, Sr.

TE: Jordan Reed, Florida, 6-3, 243, Jr.

QB: u-Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, 6-1, 200, Fr.

RB: Todd Gurley, Georgia, 6-1, 218, Fr.

RB: Mike Gillislee, Florida, 5-11, 209, Sr.

K: Caleb Sturgis, Florida, 5-11, 184, Sr.

All-Purpose: Cordarrelle Patterson, Tennessee, 6-3, 205, Jr.


DT: Sharrif Floyd, Florida,6-3, 303, Jr.

DT: Sheldon Richardson, Missouri, 6-4, 295, Jr.

DE: u-Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina, 6-6, 256, So.

DE: Damontre Moore, Texas A&M, 6-4, 250, Jr.

LB: u-Jarvis Jones, Georgia, 6-3, 241, Jr.

LB: C.J. Mosley, Alabama, 6-2, 232, Jr.

LB: Kevin Minter, LSU, 6-2, 245, Jr.

CB: u-Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State, 6-2, 185, Sr.

CB: u-Dee Milliner, Alabama, 6-1, 199, Jr.

S: Matt Elam, Florida, 5-10, 202, Jr.

S: Eric Reid, LSU, 6-2, 212, Jr.

P: Kyle Christy, Florida, 6-2, 199, So.



WR: Justin Hunter, Tennessee, 6-4, 200, Jr.

WR: Chad Bumphis, Mississippi State, 5-11, 200, Sr.

OL: D.J. Fluker, Alabama, 6-6, 335, Jr.

OL: Larry Warford, Kentucky, 6-3, 343, Sr.

OL: Antonio Richardson, Tennessee, 6-6, 332, So.

OL: Dallas Thomas, Tennessee, 6-5, 310, Sr.

C: Travis Swanson, Arkansas 6-5, 305, Jr.

TE: Mychal Rivera, Tennessee, 6-3, 244, Sr.

QB: AJ McCarron, Alabama, 6-4, 210, Jr.

RB: Eddie Lacy, Alabama, 6-0, 220, Jr.

RB: Zac Stacy, Vanderbilt, 5-9, 210, Sr.

K: Carey Spear, Vanderbilt, 5-10, 190, Jr.

All-Purpose: LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State, 5-10, 190, Jr.

All-Purpose: Ace Sanders, South Carolina, 5-8, 175, Jr.


DT: Jesse Williams, Alabama, 6-4, 320, Sr.

DT: John Jenkins, Georgia, 6-3, 358, Sr.

DT: Bennie Logan, LSU, 6-3, 295, Jr.

DE: Sam Montgomery, LSU, 6-5, 260, Jr.

LB: Alec Ogletree, Georgia, 6-3, 232, Jr.

LB: Cameron Lawrence, Mississippi State, 6-3, 230, Sr.

LB: Barkevious Mingo, LSU, 6-5, 240, Jr.

LB: Denzel Nkemdiche, Mississippi, 5-11, 203, Fr.

CB: Andrew Hal, Vanderbilt, 6-0, 184, Jr.

CB: Marcus Robertson, Florida, 6-0, 178, So.

S: D.J. Swearinger, South Carolina, 6-0, 210, Sr.

S: Craig Loston, LSU, 6-2, 205, Jr.

S: Bacarri Rambo, Georgia, 6-0, 210, Sr.

P: Dylan Breeding, Arkansas, 6-1, 211, Sr.




La’el Collins, OL, LSU, 6-5, 321, So.; Josh Dworaczyk, OL, LSU, 6-6, 300, Sr.; Wesley Johnson, OL, Vanderbilt, 6-5, 285, Jr.; Marcus Lattimore, RB, South Carolina, 6-0, 218, Jr.; Aaron Murray, QB, Georgia, 6-1, 210, Jr.


Robert Lester, S, Alabama, 6-2, 210, Sr.; Chris Smith, DE, Arkansas, 6-3, 251, Jr.



u-Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M


Jarvis Jones, Georgia


Kevin Sumlin, Texas A&M


Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.