War Eagle Extra has moved!

You should be automatically redirected in 10 seconds. If not, visit
and update your bookmarks.

January 19, 2013

Nearly half the NFL Draft’s 73 declared underclassmen hail from the SEC

Auburn v. LSU Football Action

The NFL officially released its list Saturday of a record 73 underclassmen who have been granted special eligibility to be selected in the 2013 NFL Draft, a further commentary on the gap between SEC football and everybody else.

On the list are 32 players hailing from SEC schools.

From LSU alone, there are 11.

From the entire Pac-12, the SEC’s nearest competitor? Nine.

Now, submitting one’s name for the Draft, and thus foregoing any remaining college eligibility, does not guarantee an NFL team will come calling on April 25-27. Many juniors have tried their luck at the Draft, only to find themselves waiting on free agent calls from teams looking through the bargain bin or filling out a practice squad.

However, the NFL provides a service for players who have completed three years in college to submit paperwork to a committee which reviews game film and other factors, sending back an approximated grade of where that player might be taken in the Draft.

LSU’s whopping list of 11 underclassmen leaving the program includes five players who were listed anywhere on the all-SEC squads in the 2012 season – as well as Tyrann Mathieu, the “Honey Badger” and cornerback/returner phenom who was dismissed from the program following the 2011 season for failing drug tests.

Florida and Tennessee each have four Draft hopefuls going out, while Georgia has three, including consensus All-American linebacker Jarvis Jones, nose tackle Kwame Geathers and linebacker Alec Ogletree.

Alabama is bidding adieu to tailback Eddie Lacy and cornerback Dee Milliner, while Auburn sends off defensive end Corey Lemonier.

The NFL’s complete list of declared underclassmen can be found here.



Eddie Lacy RB

Dee Milliner DB


Alvin Bailey G

Knile Davis RB


Corey Lemonier DE


Matt Elam DB

Sharrif Floyd DT

Jelani Jenkins LB

Jordan Reed TE


Kwame Geathers NT

Jarvis Jones LB

Alec Ogletree LB

LSU (11)

Chris Faulk T

Michael Ford RB

Bennie Logan DT

Tyrann Mathieu DB

Barkevious Mingo DE

Kevin Minter LB

Sam Montgomery DE

Eric Reid DB

Tharold Simon DB

Spencer Ware RB

Brad Wing P


Sheldon Richardson DT


Marcus Lattimore RB

Ace Sanders WR


Tyler Bray QB

Justin Hunter WR

Cordarrelle Patterson WR

Darrington Sentimore DT


Luke Joeckel T

Damontre Moore DE

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.